Renaissance

Two novellas by Diane L. Holland in one volume of around 60 pages. Illustrated by Val Westall. (Click on the cover for a larger version)

This is a genzine for fans of Avon, Blake and Vila. It's also one of the most unlikely Blake's 7 stories you'll ever read.

Extract.

Review By Murray Smith

In Renaissance Italy, we find a world where Avon has been recast as Leonardo da Vinci, Vila as one of his pupils and Blake as Machiavelli (a Florentine patriot whose bad reputation is at least in part due to history being written by his enemies). The friendship between the two will change history.

In the sequel, each of the three men is reincarnated into a slightly later period of history. Avon is now Galileo, Blake a Grand Duke and Vila a street juggler. One of the three committed a great sin in his previous life and must find a way to repay that debt.

The whole thing sounds weird, but trust me, it works. The characterisations ring true even in the different incarnations and there's lots of angst as the stories play out against the background of Italian politics under the shadow of the Inquisition.

Buy Me


England 7.40, Europe 8.20, USA 9.50 or $16, Aus 9.70 Order from:

Judith Proctor,
28 Diprose Rd,
Corfe Mullen,
Wimborne,
Dorset,
BH21 3QY

Contents

RENAISSANCE (two stories by Diane L. Holland)
Editor: Judith Proctor
Publisher: Waveney (Wimborne, Dorset)
Date: January 1999
Format: A4, [4] + 73 pp. + [2] pp. zine ads, white card covers, front cover printed in color with clear plastic overlay, white tape binding

Fiction, all by Diane L. Holland:

"Chiaruscuro" (Renaissance AU; A-B-V)
"Purgatorio" (sequel to "Chiaruscuro;" Renaissance AU; A-B-V)

Nonfiction:
Judith L. Proctor, "Editorial"
Diane Lynn Holland, "Afterword"
zine ads

Art, all by Val Westall, all illos: cover (color), pp. [iv], 6, 11, 15, 17, 19, 22, 29, 30, 34, 35, 45 (color), 48, 51, 55, 67, 72


Back up to Fanzines

Back up to Blake's 7 Index

Last updated on 21st of December 2007.